Make America Hate Again- 0/209

When I said that I would be keeping track on Trump I was not joking. This won’t necessarily be a weekly series, depending on how much free time I have and so on, but it will be occasional. The numbers are the current week of Trump’s term over the total number of weeks. To skip to a certain week just change the first number!

If in doubt, any quotes come from here.

I would also like to clarify: I don’t think all conservatives are idiots. I disagree with many conservative views, but most conservatives’ points can at least be understood. Trump cannot.

The next post can be found here, and the latest post here.

Really worries me policy wise from the debates

  • I don’t have a quote but: The whole thinking Obama was a Kenyan-born Muslim when his book, the Audacity of Hope, makes it clear just in the (British) blurb that he’s Hawaiian and Christian thing. Audacity of Hope was published in 2006 and he started his accusation in 2011, so he displays a complete inability to read about 50 words. This does not bode well for reading official reports and research to help form government positions.
  • “”Look at that face! [of Carly Fiorina] Would anyone vote for that? Can you imagine that, the face of our next president?!”” He’s reduced his list of desired qualifications to be president into being their face. Frankly, she’s pretty normal looking, but that’s what you expect from political leaders. It’s not- it shouldn’t be- a beauty pageant.
  • “We won with young. We won with old. We won with highly educated. We won with poorly educated. I love the poorly educated.” No politician should be actively admitting that they love it when their people are poorly educated. It bodes poorly for any current students in the Us for the next 4 years. If I were a parent in the US right now, I would be home schooling, and doing it immediately, because I would not trust a man who said that about my childrens’ education. I would rather have to deal with all the stress of that than sentence my children to his education system. And this is because of a single line, not having said it yet.
  • We’re going to build a wall, and we’re going to make Mexico pay for it.” This has been discussed so many times, I don’t think a proper examination is needed, but to drum in: it’s economically unfeasible even before Mexico pays for it, and it won’t stop immigration because planes go over walls.
  • “You know, I’m automatically attracted to beautiful — I just start kissing them. It’s like a magnet. Just kiss. I don’t even wait. When you’re a star, they let you do it. You can do anything… Grab ’em by the pussy. You can do anything.” When you’re honestly concerning people that you are a sexual assaultist at best you should not be running for president. That sounds, to a worrying degree, like what Jimmy Saville would say, if he were still alive, about little girls. Genuinely this comment made me concerned when Prime Minister May was announced to be having a meeting with Mr Trump because I was worried he’d try flirting (which would have horrible political repercussions, I don’t generally take issue with people flirting) with her, or worse.
  • “Don’t worry about that baby. I love babies. I hear that baby crying, I like it. What a baby. What a beautiful baby. Don’t worry, don’t worry. The mom’s running around like—don’t worry about it, you know. It’s young and beautiful and healthy and that’s what we want. […] Actually, I was only kidding, you can get the baby out of here. That’s all right. Don’t worry. I, I think she really believed me that I love having a baby crying while I’m speaking. That’s OK. People don’t understand. That’s OK.” At first when I heard this I was wondering if he was  actually able to feel empathy. Then I heard the second half.

‘As President-elect

  • “America will no longer settle for anything less than the best.” I don’t think this is offensive, but it shows a lack of brain power. America is, at best, the joint most powerful country in the world (with the other UN P5 states, or the PRC, or the Russian Federation, depending if you define by international political power, economic power, or the greatest ability to end life on earth). It already has the best, realistically. And they shouldn’t have that. To be the best, in a country where millions of people can’t even afford basic health care, and where long summer breaks lead poor PoC children to show signs of malnutrition, and the Ku Klux Klan still has thousands of members, is not a good thing. It also suggests a complete lack of care for every other country in the world. I know no leader is going to say they’re not looking for their country’s best interest, but this is either a way of saying “we’re going to let everyone else get even poorer, and do it deliberately” or “I have no clue how the world works”. I vote for both.
  • “I think I’m a sober person. I think the press tries to make you into something a little bit different. In my case, a little bit of a wild man, I’m not, I’m actually not. I’m a very sober person.” I assume he has no idea what sober means.
  • “Truly great and talented men and women…” Except the one who’s now in charge of energy. In an interview, Rick Perry said he would remove three departments, but could only remember two of them; commerce, education and… what’s the third one? (Energy).  That’s right, he couldn’t remember the name of the department he is now the head of and he wants to get rid of it. Not even beginning to mention how stupid getting rid of a department of energy and plunging the US into perpetual 4-year-long black outs for anyone who can’t afford their own energy production, this displays some extreme stupidity, hating stuff without even knowing anything about it, and absolutely no talent. And Perry is a good example of his administration.
  • “to develop a list of executive actions we can take on day one to restore our laws”. In all due respect (none), I don’t think any alt-right figure has anything even resembling a way to reduce crime rates. There are two ways to deal with crime, which I will dub the “DPRK route” and the “Iceland route”. DPRK route means being so inconceivably cruel to criminals that absolutely no criminals are left. Iceland is fairly lax, and prisoners get very high freedoms given they are criminals. Seeing as the DPRK achieves its methods through abominations against the mere idea of the sanctity of human dignity, this is not an acceptable route to take, and no conservative politician will ever try to be reasonable about teaching people how to make a living without being a criminal, I think the crime rates will continue to rise. It’s a thing , judging from the PRC, USA, various EU states and Russia, that is very obvious that harsher punishments lead to higher violent crime rates. No conservative is going to reach this conclusion.
  • “These include the following: On trade, I am going to issue our notification of intent to withdraw from the Trans-Pacific Partnership, a potential disaster for our country.” The TPP was meant to be essentially a copy of the EU. It had some really great benefits; connecting people from dozens of cultural backgrounds in a network, where, honestly, almost everyone speaks English. The only real downside I can see is the “loss” of national sovereignty. Any national sovereignty issues should be perfectly easily negotiated out within the trade agreement process. He’s essentially assuming every country in the world would vote for Brexit, when just a few decades ago, we voted Brit-in, and our culture really hasn’t changed much. Besides, there are 5 countries that have no right to complain about a lack of national soveriegnty: The P5 of the UN. The 5 countries that can impose their views on any security issue across the entire world and only the other 4 can complain: the USA, The UK, The PRC, The Russian Federation, and The French Republic. Of these, 3 are the most vocal complainers about their political situation with the argument of national sovereignty; while they continue to throw around their power to suppress the will of the rest of the elected members of the UN security council.
  • “On energy, I will cancel job-killing restrictions on the production of American energy – including shale energy and clean coal – creating many millions of high-paying jobs.” And many millions of cancer patients in the long term, and then many billions of deaths from climate change damage. But it’s the jobs that matter!
  • “On regulation, I will formulate a rule which says that for every one new regulation, two old regulations must be eliminated, it’s so important.” Do we need to get rid of two regulations to pass this one, or can we eliminate this one twice because it’s so stupid we need to physically destroy it, then eradicate it from all memory?
  • “I will ask the Department of Defense and the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff to develop a comprehensive plan to protect America’s vital infrastructure from cyber-attacks, and all other form of attacks.” Even expert hackers say this is stupid. The best defenses are to take political action against international governmental hacking, or to just have resilient enough systems that you can cope if something is getting attacked, and while doing that, monitor what’s getting hacked so you can streamline your bolstering. It’s how large banks’ anti-hacking methods often work (in conjunction with many other methods). Their sheer size means that even if a hacker brings it down it can be up again quickly. It’s pretty much impossible to defend a network entirely, and the only examples I can think of are when deliberately out dated technology is used (in nuclear missile silos) and the Pentagon.
  • “rebuild our middle class.” In a state  run by a republican, there’s no room for a middle class. You’re struggling to make ends meet, you’re literally starving, or you’re rich enough to afford a gold plated apartment. There’s no real middle in that system. Melt down the gold, use it to pay for schemes that allow people to get decent income, and then you can talk about helping the average person, Mr Trump.
  • “Make America Great Again for everyone.” Except for for the 251,978,615 US citizens Trump has admitted he hates!
  • “God Bless You and God Bless America.” I’m not saying that having any given faith is wrong, I would not say that for any modern day religions, but I believe it’s unconstitutional for a president to wish in the name of a specific god. So “God bless you and god bless America” is fine but “God Bless you and God Bless America” is not.
  • “In addition to winning the Electoral College in a landslide, I won the popular vote if you deduct the millions of people who voted illegally.” Something that should terrify everyone. In the US you need pretty good legal proof of identity before you can vote from what I’ve gathered. Many people who get the right can’t even use it because the polling systems are assigned incorrectly to the individual and they are not told where their real polling stations are. So it’s an impossibility that there’s actually millions voting illegally; there’s probably millions who are illegally being stopped from voting, conversely. The only demographics in my earlier list that could easily be distinguished out and systematically stopped from voting that would constitute millions are: women, PoCs, and Muslims (if you take Trump’s seeming assumption that anyone olive skinned is Muslim). All of these options should be deeply concerning, especially when we bear in mind he does not seem to remorse the loss of MLK’s bust from his office.
  • “We’re trying very hard to get the best people. Not necessarily people that will be the most politically correct people, because that hasn’t been working.” Generally speaking, people are politically correct because they care about the groups who would otherwise be receiving attacks; in turn, bar from occasional slip ups or off tone jokes, which are really not much to worry about on an occasional basis, most people who genuinely care about others are naturally politically correct. I mean, they don’t go around yelling insults at every minority and using slurs when they can easily avoid it and use a more neutral term; it’s really not hard. If they can’t even meet “caring vaguely about the people in their country”, they aren’t the best people.
  • “So we have really experts in the field.” No. No you don’t. Your head of the department of energy had no idea what the department of energy was, you had no idea how much work being president required, and your head of the department of trade made this.
  • “but they’re known within their field as being the best.“I assume that “the best” here means “at being awful at their jobs” or is sarcastic, or their field is racism or some other form of prejudice.
  • “I think the popular vote would have been easier in a true sense because you’d go to a few places. I think that’s the genius of the Electoral College. I was never a fan of the Electoral College until now.” Funny how the illegitimate president of the US likes the system that got him into power. Also funny how the electoral college has been against the popular vote 4 times and each time a republican came into power.
  • ” And I don’t want to hurt the Clintons. I really don’t.” You say. You also say: “..if I win, I am going to instruct my attorney general to get a special prosecutor to look into your [Hilary Clinton’s] situation, because there has never been so many lies, so much deception. There has never been anything like it, and we’re going to have a special prosecutor.” Which to me looks rather like wanting to hurt the Clintons. Also, look who’s the one lying. And: Hillary Clinton: …it’s just awfully good that someone with the temperament of Donald Trump is not in charge of the law in our country.
    Donald Trump: Because you’d be in jail.
  • Clean air is vitally important. Clean water, crystal clean water is vitally important. Safety is vitally important.”  Says the man who thinks Climate Change was made up by the “Chinese” to limit US economic growth.
  • “And I think my voice is listened to, especially by people that don’t believe in it.” Yes. I think by definition it is. In the Brexit vote 77% of remain voters said they thought that leaving the EU would have a major detrimental effect on their lives and on the lives of their children, while 69% of leave voters said that leaving would have no substantial change or only a small change to the well being of themselves and their children. I know it’s a long extrapolation, but I think based on that we can assume: People who take the more inclusive decision think their decision has a greater impact. They are therefore likely to take their decision more seriously and to take stupid justifications as a greater insult. I don’t think Trump voters cared what he had to say, while Clinton voters definitely did.
  • I’ve known Steve Bannon a long time. If I thought he was a racist, or alt-right, or any of the things that we can, you know, the terms we can use, I wouldn’t even think about hiring him.” You saying you were concerned about him being racist or alt-right basically confirms he is, especially with you again admitting it by wavering around the point for three separate clauses.
  • “To me more important is taking care of the people that really have proven to be, to love Donald Trump, as opposed to the political people. And frankly if the political people don’t take care of these people, they’re not going to win and you’re going to end up with maybe a total different kind of government than what you’re looking at right now.” Firstly, only favouring your political supporters reminds me of one African leader known as Mugabe, which has worked out very poorly for Zimbabwe. Secondly, that’s the opposite of what you should do. If you know a demographic will vote for you whatever you do, very few politicians will invest in them; they won’t invest in people they know will never vote for them; they invest in the people who no one knows who they’ll vote for, to try to sway them. It makes sense. The most important of these is not investing in your supporters; your generosity to them will not make more people like you, and will not make fewer people hate you.
Leave a Reply

